The authors wish to express their gratitude to the EPSRC for the financial support extended to the “Targeted energy transfer in powertrains to reduce vibration-induced energy losses” Grant (EP/L019426/1), under which this research was carried out. Thanks are also due to Ford Motor Company Limited, Raicam Clutch Limited and Getrag Ford Transmissions GmbH for their technical support.